top of page

Daz Schmeyz, Fighting Fifth Husky & E11ven at The Masons Arms 17th October 2015

Saturday saw a real premier quality night with E11ven topping the bill. Opening the night was acoustic act, Daz Schmeyz. Daz is a very talented singer and has played in a number of bands in town, including Cue The Bad Guy and The Action Plan. Daz had a new sound to his performance tonight, an effects switch which added harmonies to his vocals. This worked particularly well when he performed Queen’s I Want to Break Free and I could see a number of confused faces in the audience looking for the backing singers. Great set.

Daz Schmeyz photo by Trudi G for Llanelli Rock Scene

Next up were my band, Fighting Fifth Husky. Obviously, it’s tricky for me to review my own band as I know what we should sound like in a prefect show and so I tend to be over-critical. In my last review of us, I blamed myself for being hungover although that gig actually went really well. This time I’m blaming the fact that we went out to watch the rugby in the afternoon and certain members of the band may have imbibed a little too much. I can’t blame any one member of the band for dropping his drum sticks five times and knocking over his snare so I’ll say nothing more on the matter. Thankfully, I don’t think we sounded as bad as I thought as we did receive a lot of compliments after the show.

Fighting Fifth Husky photo by Trudi G for Llanelli Rock Scene

Headliners, E11ven do like to take the mick out of me so I could have given them a bad review to get my own back but this band were so good that I can’t do anything other than praise them to the maximum. The band have known each other for years, being involved in bands such as Akurah Development and The Lovers of Alginoil, and that shows in the way they are so comfortable with each other on stage. They can have a bit of fun and mix things up knowing that they know each other so well that the rest of the band will always be able to follow what each individual is doing. The sense of fun running through this band is obvious for all to see, whether it’s bass player, Chris fully extending his mic stand to perform in a pose forever associated with Lemmy, guitarist, Dom, asking for complete silence from the rowdy crowd while he went to check his amp (he put his ear next to it and announced that it was fine so everyone was free to talk again) or charismatic front man, Gareth Dixon, leading the crowd in a Lionel Ritchie sing along. E11ven have some really catchy songs such as Bullet No. 5, Shit Disco and Latitude and they are all performed perfectly. Throughout the show, members of the crowd were shouting out for the band to play “the hit” and in Beauty has a Tone they really have got a potential big hit on their hands. I thought that I’d seen everything from the band but they played a spot on cover of The Prodigy’s Omen to finish (check out the video on our facebook page). This was the first mosh pit I have seen in the Masons for a long time I would love to see this band in a larger venue to see the crowd reaction when they let rip.

E11ven photo by Trudi G for Llanelli Rock Scene

Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
bottom of page