top of page

Greenmailer Gig

Friday saw the return of local favourites, Greenmailer, to the Masons. The band have been playing regularly at the venue for the last few years and always put on a great show. I have often waxed lyrical about the quality of their album, Scattered Along The Mile, which is not only one of the best albums I have heard from a local band but stands up there with the classic grunge albums from the 90s from the likes of Nirvana and Sonic Youth. Most of the songs on the night were taken from this album but they also had a few new tracks for us which had a slightly more bluesy feel than I am used to from the band. Highlights for me were the tracks, Liquorice, Catalina and the always popular, Staple, which also has a great video to go with it if you search on youtube.

I have seen the band live many times and often listen to their album but I didn’t realise how well I knew their songs. I found myself singing along to most of their tracks, which surprised me as I usually can not remember the lyrics of my own songs, let alone someone else’s. The catchiness of their songs show that they are not only for fans of 90s grunge but can also attract a larger audience. I spoke to bass player, Mark, after the gig and he told me that the band have not been playing as often recently as they have been working on writing new material so I can not wait to hear if the second album is as good as the first.

Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
bottom of page