top of page

Q & A with The Frights

Ahead of their March 3rd gig in Llanelli guitarist/vocalist Marc of The Frights kindly took some time to answer some questions about the story behind the band and some of their impressive guitars.

You are playing with Fat Wreck & World Vs World this Friday what do you know about those bands and have you played a gig with either of them ?

World vs World I have seen a few times over years and was very impressed , my wife used to put on gigs with Chris Woodman in Swansea Uplands and they would be there fairly often. Fat Wreck I have yet to see but have met some of the members in their other bands,I don’t think it is too early to use the word SOUTH WALES SUPERGROUP!!!

What do you see as being the standout songs in The Frights set?

Paul and me have always thought that ‘ Queen Of Harm’ pretty much sets out the stall for what our style is-surfy/gothy; a bit discordant at times with a melodic vocal line. I think other strong contenders would be ‘Rocket Surgery’; Unfortunate Son and I love playing ‘Kali.’

Can you tell me about The Frights and the history of the band?

The Frights were formed a few years back. A friend came back home and I asked him to do some drumming on some songs I had. I wanted a fairy stripped back primal sound. We recorded the songs and we even got played on Radio 6 Music’s Mark Riley show. That version of band didn’t last long, due to personal differences.

I had played in a band with present drummer Paul briefly. I remember liking his style and perhaps more importantly, his personality. I invited him on board where he took my ‘no Hi Hat’ minimal drum kit rules in his stride (most drummers would have some kind of seizure) and it was instantly clear he was perfect man for job. Paul is also the perfect balance to my nervy worrying personality. He simply seems to not get stressed by pretty much most things apart from fixing motorbikes his wife says. We went through a period of having a second guitarist but discovered eventually that the current 2 man setup works perfectly.I think the second guitar which was generally feedback and noise left no room for vocals.

How would you describe your music?

Ok, that's tricky I would say perhaps Surf/goth/punk but perhaps more tuneful than that suggests. I have always maintained if you can describe your band in one statement like, we sound like nirvana, then it may be time to rethink!

What influences your lyrics and music?

Musically it would be a mix of first generation punk(Pistols, Damned etc), things like The Cramps, Link Wray, Chuck Berry, Eddie Cochran etc along with eighties goth like Bauhaus, Siouxie and the Banshees and The Jesus & Mary Chain. Me and Paul are both big Morrissey fans too. I think I like things with a stark stripped sound, be that something like Bauhaus with Bela Lugosi’s Dead or Springsteen’s State Trooper. Lyrically I think I write from the darker part of myself and it is an outlet for that. Paul claims his drumming is influenced and informed by his lack of talent and mindless disregard for health and safety legislation. That is of course Paul being his never serious self as he is very good indeed. That is one weird thing in this band, although our music is on the gloomy side, as people we are rarely serious.

I’ve heard a number of excellent demo tracks off the EP you're working on. Whats the story with the EP and when can we expect a release date?

Well, we are recording the EP,though considering we have 4 tracks done and plan at least six more we may be stretching that EP word a bit. We are recording at a place called Gaia studios near Aberaeron, it is perhaps the most unconventional studio ever but we are loving the results. We reckon we will back to finish in a few weeks with release soon after.

The Frights track Unfortunate Son is a great tune, can you tell me the story behind the track?

It is about Harold Shipman the serial killer, his relationship with his mother shaped what he became thus the title. Maybe I should have left the mystery intact.

I notice that you play a number of impressive looking guitars. Can you tell me about these and where can I get one?

Yes I do love my old/unusual guitars. My main one is a 62 Fender jazz master that my wife bought me when we first got together. We. were together in school and then split up for 16 years , when we got back together she took me to Cranes in Cardiff and it is best present ever. I have an old 60s Gretsch which I have had for a long time and a surftastic sixties Yamaha I got in a swap. I do however have a couple of guitars built by multi talented Frights drummer Paul Melnyczuk , one is Fender Esquire style and one is Gretsch Thunderbird style (currently being resprayed black) and they are both absolutely great. I would say get Paul to build you one.

EP aside what does 2017 hold for The Frights?

I think this year we would like to do more gigging and find more venues, get some stuff on radio and finally get round to having some band t shirts (and balloons for the kids)

Support Your Local Music Scene.

Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
bottom of page